DIY No Sew Thread Organizer

I was surfing on the internet looking for some ideas how to organize and display my sewing thread. I found some really great ideas, but all of them require some kind of drilling which I can’t do right now.

These are some of the thing I like. If you click on the pictures they will lead you to the sites I found them on.

I really love the idea of a big pegboard over my working desk, only I can’t find them anywhere in Croatia to buy 😦

Image

This is a sort of a wooden frame and you can also keep your bobbins with the right thread.

Image

This one I actually planned on doing. There is a DIY tutorial on this one.

Image

This one was also an option for me. You only need a cork board and some toothpicks. A pretty awsome idea.

Image

However, I am currently waiting on some sewing tools and organizers I ordered so I don’t want to start anything until they get here. In the meantime, I just had to do something with my thread because they were driving me crazy being all messed up in a box. So I got this idea! 🙂

Image

All you need is:

  • silk ribbon
  • elastic
  • pins

Measure how long your ribbon needs to be and start pinning the elastic accordingly. My thread is pretty small so I’m putting two or three of them into one space. And that’s it! Easy, right? 🙂

I wanted to make something temporary and I can use that elastic again.

Of course, you can make it more presentable, and sew a long cotton strip in some fun fabric and sew the elastic to it. It would look really nice! If some of you do it please show me! 🙂

8 thoughts on “DIY No Sew Thread Organizer

  1. Hi….just saw your post about the peg board….and croatia….did not realize that before….i’m also from croatia 🙂
    Anyway back to the peg board: have you looked at the usual specialized stores like Bauhaus? Or maybe a store that specializes in wood work for kitchens and furniture?
    If they don’t have it i do have a idea how you could create your own peg board. Takes a little bit of patience, a power drill and a measuring
    tape 🙂
    I am in construction and i can give you some tips on how to build it and with what (and to keep the expenses in normal boundaries) or i can build it for you.
    Also that one with the bobbins holder.
    You have my mail 🙂

    • Hi! Yes, I’m form Croatia. If you look at some of my earlier posts you’ll see they’re in Croatian.
      Yes, I’ve looked at those stores. They all have them, but they don’t sell them. :S
      I’ll probably do it myself but somewhere around Easter when I’ll have more time.
      Thanks for your offer! If I’ll have any questions I’ll contact you.
      Also, zašto pišemo na engleskom ako smo oboje iz Hrvatske?! hehe xD

      • E pa neznam ni ja zasto pisemo na engleski 🙂
        Mozda zato sto ga nemam cesto koristiti pa iskoristavam svaku priliku 🙂

  2. This is probably a late response but i found you via Google images. I love your elastic thread storage! I was looking for something similar to make myself. In Pakistan, haberdashery and thread stores display their thread in a similar way. They have all the reels of one colour/brand in a little box and outside the box, they attach an elastic/rubber band with one sample reel in it. So they always know which colour is in which box. Thank you for practically making this. I will be sewing one of these probably. I’ll send you a link if I do!

    P.S. my blog is mimiscraftyworld.blogspot.com . Do pay me a visit! xxx

    • Hey!
      Never too late for comments 🙂
      Glad you like it! I was looking for an easy, fun and cheap way to organize my threads. Do post a link if you make one. Would love to see yours 🙂
      In the meantime, please keep in touch and visit my blog. Was working on some jewelry and would love feedback!
      xoxo

    • The elastic and ribbon is utterly brilliant. Love that it’s an easy temporary fix and looks great too.

Leave a comment