Pleats Problems

Finally!

Two days and two broken needles later, it’s finished! How can something so simple give me so much trouble?! Aaarg! :/

Image

I got this skirt while thrifting some time ago. It was this, some leopard moo moo like dress and a scarf for I think a dollar or 1.80 $. 

I liked the pleats instantly! But when I put it on it was weird. It was baggy at the hips and made them look wider (and mine are wide enough ;)).

Image

 

I read the tutorials on how to make waist elastic skirt and it seemed easy enough. Boy, was I wrong! It is very different to sew with gathered fabric and with pleats! Much more frustrating!

I wanted the pleats to be nice and flat but while sewing I just couldn’t make it happen! 😦
As you can see in the picture down some look good, but while I was getting to the end of elastic I had to spread them.

Image

I still don’t know what I should have done? 😦
I did learn it’s very important to stretch the elastic from both sides. There’s that at least.

But I’ve put too much effort in it not to wear it! 😀

I think it will look good with a simple T-shirt for work and in my free time I’ll definitely pair it with the cropped top above! Really like how it looks!

If anyone could give me some tips please on what to do next time, how to work with pleats I would be sooo grateful!

Bye for now! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Pleats Problems

  1. A very nice alteration! When I work with pleats I usually baste them in place before sewing the final seam. When it comes to elastics, I usually divide the elastic band into 4, 8 (or even more) parts using pins. I then do the same for the fabric and match the pins together. That way it’s easier to spread the fabric out evenly.

      • No problem 🙂 For a full skirt, I would definitely put in more pins. Elastics sure are a pain to work with. Btw, I saw a “new” way of putting in an elastic waistband on the 3rd episode of the Great British Sewing Bee. Could be worth checking out if you haven’t already seen it.

      • Yes. Pins are essential. I guess I should have used more fabric, but I was afraid it was going to be too bulky then. Then just leave the pleats as they are (not stretch them) and only stretch the elastic. Right?
        Never heard od Great British Sewing Bee. Some sewing channel?

      • Yes, only stretch the elastic – but not too much. The sewing bee is a great tv show aired by bbc. A group of home sewers compete for the titel of great british sewing bee. It’s like project runway but without the drama. It simply focus on the sewing. The first season was available on youtube last time I looked.

Leave a Reply

