Teaching ESL

I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but I am a teacher! Yaaay! And proud to be one! 🙂
Currently I’m teaching English from 1st to 4th grade, elementary school.

At firs I intended this blog to be about sewing and crafts, but after the tests my kids wrote last week I changed my mind. Don’t get me wrong, the test weren’t that bad at all, but after grading it, of course, I saw what needs to be worked on.

*Note* I am not talking about teaching native speakers (I am from Croatia), but about teaching ESL!

This whole weekend I am dedicating only to searching new, fun and educational games and activities to help my students with their English. And what better way to save my ideas and get your opinions and your teaching advice than through a blog?! 🙂

Fellow ESL teachers will understand problems we’re facing in teaching and I’m sure native speakers encounter some of them too.
Number one problem for me now is spelling and writing. Lower grades are only starting with the alphabet and writing in our native language so naturally it is very strange for them to do so in another one. Not only that, but they are very impatient and they don’t even copy the word correctly! And I can’t give them a point on the test if the word isn’t written right!

Some of the problems I am facing:

  • I see them only twice a week for 45 minutes
  • Big classes
  • Copies I can make are limited to 200 a month
    (I have 10 classes and have to buy my own copying paper!)
  • I don’t have my own classroom

In a perfect world I would have my own classroom which I could organise however I wanted to, I would make as many copies as I wished, but we all know that is not possible. If that was possible I wouldn’t have problems with anything because each student in every class would get several worksheets during the class and everything would be great!
But since that world exists only in my imagination, I’m looking for some ideas to practice grammar and writing without too many worksheets having to be copied and without boring the children to death!

So, teaching posts from now on will be of a DIY nature and on a budged!
I love my kids, but don’t intend to spend my whole salary on making copies and buying necessities for the classroom (even if I did buy them (which is something a school should do), no one would be that grateful for it because they don’t think about how much goes into teaching and I don’t think we even need to talk about the salaries).

I will only post about thing I have personally tried in my classroom and write about how it worked for me.

I have already made the Bang! game so I will report about that next weekend probably, and tomorrow I will write about Flashcard activities.

I would love to hear your experiences, problems you are facing and how you overcame them! Where do you teach?

And for the end some encouraging words… 😉

Image

*truthfully, don’t get the Ryan Hey Girl craze, but I found some good ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

